The New Jersey State Library's General Reference Collection focuses on current materials in areas of interest to state government. Primary subjects include education, business, public and governmental affairs, health, statistics and biographical information. Resources are in print and eBook format. Print materials do not circulate. Reference materials can be searched in the library catalog
Our print collection is greatly enhanced by online access to bibliographic, statistical and full-text databases covering most subject areas. All databases are accessible from within the Library, and most are available remotely for State Library authorized users.
This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
The Almanac of American Education by 
Encyclopedia of Climate Change by
The Encyclopedia of Climate Change provides comprehensive coverage of global warming and climate change, including scientific descriptions and explanations of all factors, from carbon dioxide to sunspots, that might contribute to climate change.
Magill's Medical Guide by
Also available in Salem Press Online. Covers diseases, disorders, treatments, procedures, specialties, biology, and issues in an easy-to-use A-Z format, with sidebars addressing recent developments in medicine and concise information boxes for all diseases and disorders. In addition to completely new essays in this edition, all entries from the previous edition have been evaluated and updated by a panel of Medical Editors to ensure their currency and accuracy.
Salem Health: Community & Family Health Issues by
A comprehensive, understandable resource covering all aspects of community and family health issues. A must-have source for public library and health collections of all sizes! The newest addition to the popular Salem Health series, Community & Family Health Issues provides over 900 understandable, clearly-written articles on a wide variety of topics. Written by experts from the healthcare and social services fields, articles provide helpful guidance on conditions, treatments, trends and issues facing children, families, and economically, physically or mentally disadvantaged members of the community. Over 900 entries are arranged in an easy-to-use A-Z format. Topics in this comprehensive resource fall under the following broad categories: Pediatric Health & Care Adolescent Health Parenting & Parent/Child Relations Adoption & Foster Care Poverty & Economic Challenges Domestic Violence Alcohol & Substance Abuse Aging & Elder Care Behavioral and Mental Issues Care for People with Disabilities End of Life Care Military & Veterans Care Diversity & Equality This new resource will be a helpful tool for those in need of support services, as well as their families, medical professionals, teachers, social workers, mental health professionals, and hospice providers. This guide is also a valuable asset to the collections of public libraries. Also available on Salem Press Online
Encyclopedia of African-American Writing, Fourth Edition by 
Opinions throughout history : conspiracy theories by 
Opinions throughout history : mental health by 
Opinions throughout history : conspiracy theories by 
Women's Health: Understanding Issues and Influences [2 Volumes] by 
Digital Literacy: Skills & Strategies by 
Global Public Health and Disease Control Sourcebook, 1st Ed by 
Defining Documents in American History: the First Amendment by 
Documents of the Harlem Renaissance by 
The SAGE Encyclopedia of Trans Studies by 
Encyclopedia of Artificial Intelligence by 
Prescription Drugs: a Reference Handbook by 
Epidemics and Pandemics: from Ancient Plagues to Modern-Day Threats [2 Volumes] by 
GMO Food: a Reference Handbook, 2nd Edition by 
A Companion to the United States Constitution and Its Amendments, 7th Edition by 
Attacks on the American Press: a Documentary and Reference Guide by 
Organic Food and Farming: a Reference Handbook by 
Ethnicity, Race, and Disease Sourcebook by 
The Religious Right, Fourth Edition by 
Strauss's Handbook of Business Information: a Guide for Librarians, Students, and Researchers, 4th Edition by 
Medicare and Medicaid: a Reference Handbook by 
Toxic Chemicals in America: Controversies in Human and Environmental Health [2 Volumes] by 
African American Culture: an Encyclopedia of People, Traditions, and Customs [3 Volumes] by
Covering everything from sports to art, religion, music, and entrepreneurship, this book documents the vast array of African American cultural expressions and discusses their impact on the culture of the United States. According to the latest census data, less than 13 percent of the U.S. population identifies as African American; African Americans are still very much a minority group. Yet African American cultural expression and strong influences from African American culture are common across mainstream American culture--in music, the arts, and entertainment; in education and religion; in sports; and in politics and business. African American Culture: An Encyclopedia of People, Traditions, and Customs covers virtually every aspect of African American cultural expression, addressing subject matter that ranges from how African culture was preserved during slavery hundreds of years ago to the richness and complexity of African American culture in the post-Obama era. The most comprehensive reference work on African American culture to date, the multivolume set covers such topics as black contributions to literature and the arts, music and entertainment, religion, and professional sports. It also provides coverage of less-commonly addressed subjects, such as African American fashion practices and beauty culture, the development of jazz music across different eras, and African American business. Identifies influential aspects of African American culture through entries on such topics as African Americans in sports, in such musical genres as blues, gospel, hip hop, and jazz; and in such religions as Christianity, Islam, and Yoruba Makes clear the numerous ways African Americans have produced, maintained, and evolved their culture in the United States Enables readers to truly comprehend what "diversity" is by gaining substantive knowledge of how a particular group of persecuted people has learned to thrive artistically and culturally in the United States
Criminal Justice in America: the Encyclopedia of Crime, Law Enforcement, Courts, and Corrections [2 Volumes] by
This authoritative set provides a comprehensive overview of issues and trends in crime, law enforcement, courts, and corrections that encompass the field of criminal justice studies in the United States. This work offers a thorough introduction to the field of criminal justice, including types of crime; policing; courts and sentencing; landmark legal decisions; and local, state, and federal corrections systems--and the key topics and issues within each of these important areas. It provides a complete overview and understanding of the many terms, jobs, procedures, and issues surrounding this growing field of study. Another major focus of the work is to examine ethical questions related to policing and courts, trial procedures, law enforcement and corrections agencies and responsibilities, and the complexion of criminal justice in the United States in the 21st century. Finally, this title emphasizes coverage of such politically charged topics as drug trafficking and substance abuse, immigration, environmental protection, government surveillance and civil rights, deadly force, mass incarceration, police militarization, organized crime, gangs, wrongful convictions, racial disparities in sentencing, and privatization of the U.S. prison system. Approximately 300 authoritative entries on important topics pertaining to the discipline of criminal justice Illuminating timeline of events in the history of criminal justice in the United States.
Historical Dictionary of the U. S. Congress by
The U.S. Congress can be traced to the founding and the debates in Philadelphia in the summer of 1787, but to suggest that the Congress in the first decade of the 21st century is the same Congress that was created over 220 years ago would be wildly misleading. The entries in this volume will elaborate on the original compromises and the ensuing evolution of legislative practice and review how Congress has developed through several distinctive eras. This second edition of Historical Dictionary the U.S. Congress contains a chronology, an introduction, and an extensive bibliography. The dictionary section has over 500 cross-referenced entries on the key concepts, terms, labels, and individuals central to identifying and comprehending the key role Congress plays in the history of the U.S. This book is an excellent resource for students, researchers, and anyone wanting to know more about the U.S. Congress.
LGBTQ Americans in the U. S. Political System: an Encyclopedia of Activists, Voters, Candidates, and Officeholders [2 Volumes] by
This comprehensive sourcebook covers the evolution of LGBTQ engagement in American politics, from the emergence of gay rights as a political issue in the early 1970s to the present day, when LGBTQ issues occupy a prominent place in politics. This work provides a broad and authoritative survey of the ways in which gay Americans are influencing the tenor and trajectory of U.S. politics at the local, state, and national levels. An encyclopedic section offers thorough coverage of all of the individuals, organizations, cultural forces, political issues, and legal decisions that have combined to elevate the role of LGBTQ people at the ballot box, on the campaign trail, in Washington, and in mayors' offices, city councils, and school boards across the country. Complementing reference entries are in-depth essays on the rising prominence of gay Americans as voters, candidates, public officials, lawmakers, and opinion leaders, providing further context for understanding their impact on modern U.S. political processes and institutions from the perspective of liberals and conservatives alike. Finally, the set includes a collection of important primary source documents that illuminate landmark events, examine gay policy priorities and preferences, and showcase the beliefs and experiences of prominent LGBTQ Americans in the world of politics. Provides historical essays detailing the evolution of LGBTQ Americans in U.S. politics as voters, candidates, and officeholders Offers more than 250 reference entries of individuals, organizations, cultural forces, political issues, and legal decisions Presents primary documents of additional insight into major events, issues, and individuals associated with LGBTQ politics Features a chronology of events for at-a-glance coverage of the most important events in LGBTQ history Includes an appendix of LGBTQ organizations involved in politics
Historical Dictionary of Jazz by
Jazz is a music born in the United States and formed by a combination of influences. In its infancy, jazz was a melting pot of military brass bands, work songs and field hollers of the United States slaves during the 19th century, European harmonies and forms, and the rhythms of Africa and the Caribbean. Later, the blues and the influence of Spanish and French Creoles with European classical training nudged jazz further along in its development. As it moved through the swing era of the 1930s, bebop of the 1940s, and cool jazz of the 1950s, jazz continued to serve as a reflection of societal changes. During the turbulent 1960s, freedom and unrest were expressed through Free Jazz and the Avant Garde. Popular and world music have been incorporated and continue to expand the impact and reach of jazz. Today, jazz is truly an international art form.This second edition of Historical Dictionary of Jazz contains a chronology, an introduction, and an extensive bibliography. The dictionary section has over 1,500 cross-referenced entries on musicians, styles of jazz, instruments, recording labels, bands and band leaders, and more. This book is an excellent resource for students, researchers, and anyone wanting to know more about Jazz.
State and Metropolitan Area Data Book 2020 by
The State and Metropolitan Area Data Book is the continuation of the U.S. Census Bureau's discontinued publication. It is a convenient summary of statistics on the social and economic structure of the states, metropolitan areas, and micropolitan areas in the United States. It is designed to serve as a statistical reference and guide to other data publications and sources. This new edition features more than 1,500 data items from a variety of sources. It covers many key topical areas including population, birth and death rates, health coverage, school enrollment, crime rates, income and housing, employment, transportation, and government. The metropolitan area information is based on the latest set of definitions of metropolitan and micropolitan areas including: -a complete listing and data for all states, metropolitan areas, including micropolitan areas, and their component counties -2010 census counts and more recent population estimates for all areas -results of the 2016 national and state elections -expanded vital statistics, communication, and criminal justice data -data on migration and commuting habits -American Community Survey 1- and 3-year estimates -data on health insurance and housing and finance matters -accurate and helpful citations to allow the user to directly consult the source -source notes and explanations -A guide to state statistical abstracts and state information Economic development officials, regional planners, urban researchers, college students, and data users can easily see the trends and changes affecting the nation today.
Business Statistics of the United States 2020 by
Business Statistics of the United States is a comprehensive and practical collection of data from as early as 1913 that reflects the nation's economic performance. It provides several years of annual, quarterly, and monthly data in industrial and demographic detail including key indicators such as: gross domestic product, personal income, spending, saving, employment, unemployment, the capital stock, and more. Business Statistics of the United States is the best place to find historical perspectives on the U.S. economy. Of equal importance to the data are the introductory highlights, extensive notes, and figures for each chapter that help users to understand the data, use them appropriately, and, if desired, seek additional information from the source agencies. Business Statistics of the United States provides a rich and deep picture of the American economy and contains approximately 3,500 time series in all. The data are predominately from federal government sources including: -Board of Governors of the Federal Reserve System -Bureau of Economic Analysis -Bureau of Labor Statistics -Census Bureau -Employment and Training Administration -Energy Information Administration -Federal Housing Finance Agency -U.S. Department of the Treasury
County and City Extra 2020 by
When you want only one source of information about your city or county, turn to County and City Extra. This trusted reference compiles information from many sources to provide all the key demographic and economic data for every state, county, metropolitan area, congressional district, and for all cities in the United States with a 2010 population of 25,000 or more. In one volume, you can conveniently find data from 1990 to 2019 in easy-to-read tables. The annual updating of County and City Extra for 28 years ensures its stature as a reliable and authoritative source for information. No other resource compiles this amount of detailed information into one place. Subjects covered in County and City Extra include: -Population by age and race -Government finances -Income and poverty -Manufacturing, trade, and services -Crime -Housing -Education -Immigration and migration -Labor force and employment -Agriculture, land, and water -Residential construction -Health resources -Voting and elections The main body of this volume contains five basic parts and covers the following areas: Part A-States Part B-Counties Part C-Metropolitan areas Part D-Cities with a 2010 census population of 25,000 or more Part E-Congressional districts In addition, this publication includes: -Figures and text in each section that highlight pertinent data and provide analysis -Ranking tables which present each geography type by various subjects including population, land area, population density, educational attainment, housing values, race, unemployment, and crime -Multiple color maps of the United States on various topics including median household income, poverty, voting, and race Furthermore, this volume contains several appendixes which include: -Notes and explanations for further reference -Definitions of geographic concepts -A listing of metropolitan and micropolitan areas and their component counties -A list of cities by county -Maps showing congressional districts, counties, and selected places within each state
Homelessness in America: a Reference Handbook by Opinions throughout history : mental health by 
