Research Guides: Information Literacy for TESU Students: Finding Articles

Using Discovery and Databases to Find Journal Articles

To locate research materials, you can run a broad search using NJSL Discovery, our search engine that includes almost all our licensed content from a broad variety of databases.

For a more targeted search with possibly more relevant results, you can search directly in a database available to TESU students, like Academic Search Complete, OmniFile, or other Databases for TESU students.

Some students prefer to use Google Scholar to conduct research. See How to Link Your State Library Card to Google Scholar.

Using NJSL Discovery to Find Articles

How to Access ProQuest (TESU)

How to Access ProQuest (TESU Students and Staff)

TESU subscribes to a separate instance of ProQuest Central from NJ State Library. TESU staff and students can access ProQuest from MyEdison.

Navigate to https://my.tesu.edu or https://www2.tesu.edu/myedison/.
Login.
In the center towards the bottom of My Edison, there is a red tab that says My Resources. Below it are two tabs, one that says Student and one that says Educational.
Choose the Educational tab.
Now you’ll see links to three database research sites, including ProQuest.
Choose ProQuest.

TESU Tech Support

NJSL does not have access to MyEdison and cannot troubleshoot login problems, please contact contact TESU Tech Support with any issues.

1-888-442-8372
support@tesu.edu

What does NJSL Discovery Search include?

NJSL Discovery indexes articles and content from multiple platforms including

EBSCO databases
Electronic Journals – you can also search by title here
BioOne Complete
CQ Press: Congress Collection, Voting & Elections Collection, CQ Magazine
Encyclopedia Britannica
HeinOnline
library catalog records
archival databases
- NJ State Publications Digital Library (government documents)
- Jerseyana Collection (local history)
- Accessible Archives
- NewsBank – Archives
related LibGuides
open access indices
eBooks
- EBSCO eBooks
- Oxford Reference books, including the Oxford English Dictionary
- Gale eBooks, including Making of Modern Law
- National Consumer Law Center Digital Library eBooks
- Peterson's Test and Career Prep study materials
- Salem Press eBooks

EDS does not include

These business databases: Corfacts Online, Hoovers, Mergent databases, Privco, Reference Solutions
These legal databases: CCH AnswerConnect, Wolters Kluwer Legal Research (VitalLaw)
historic maps: FIMO (Fire Insurance Maps) and Sanborn Maps - New Jersey
New Jersey Legislative Histories
HeritageQuest
ProQuest Central (although some journal articles indexed by other databases will link to ProQuest)
ProQuest newspapers: NY Times, Wall Street Journal, PQ New Jersey Newspapers, US Newsstream
ProQuest government databases: Statistical Abstract of the US and PQ Congressional

Using Databases to Find Articles

What are databases?

Databases are searchable collections of journal articles, magazine articles, newspapers, reference works, and eBooks. Students search databases to find research articles and reference materials to support your academic research. Most databases licensed by the State Library are also available to Thomas Edison State University students.

Search databases using keywords or search terms to access to scholarly, reliable full-text articles. As mentioned in Starting Your Research, content in databases runs from the very broad to the very specific, depending on the database.

NJSL Databases for TESU Students and Staff
Library databases TESU students can access remotely

Limit Results to Full Text

I found relevant results in a database or NJSL Discovery, but why do some articles not have an access link? How do I access these articles?

Some searches can lead to a description of an article (also known as an "abstract") without a link to access it directly. Some databases are a mix of full text and abstracts; some are abstract-only.

If there's an article you find only in abstract, you can request it via ILLIAD Interlibrary Loan.

ILLiad request for journal articles are usually quickly filled electronically but you can also restrict your search results to full text only, whether that's in NJSL Discovery or in a database itself. There is typically a Full Text or Full Text Only box you can check.