Research Guides: Health and Medical Resources: Databases

About the Databases

Databases are searchable collections of journal articles, magazine articles, newspapers, reference works, and eBooks.
Use the online databases to search for articles, eBooks, or other publications on your research topic.
Remote access to subscription databases is restricted to NJ State Library authorized users: state employees and, unless otherwise noted, Thomas Edison staff and students.
- Note: Thomas Edison State University mentors have remote access to the OVID Nursing Full Text Plus database.
Everyone may use databases on-site. Hours: 10:00 am - 4:30 pm; 8:30 am - 10:00 am by appointment.
Authorized users will need an NJ State Library barcode to gain access. Find out more about getting a library card.

Start Your Research - Discovery

Discovery Service for the NJ State Library

Use the Discovery Service to research a topic in almost all of the NJ State Library's online content at once, including:

Library catalog
Many databases
Online journals and magazines
Government documents
Institutional repositories
Open Access material

Use the Discovery Service to find a specific article:

Enter the title of an article [note: article title needs to be specific. If the title is too general it will find articles on the subject]
Find link to full text, or access to Interlibrary Loan.

Health and Medical Databases

Alt HealthWatch (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Alternative health research database focused on complementary, holistic and integrated approaches to health care and wellness. Full text articles from over 190 peer-reviewed, professional journals.
BioOne Complete This link opens in a new window
Full-text database of 200 titles from over 150 publishers in the biological, ecological, and environmental sciences.The collection offers comprehensive coverage of fields such as zoology, plant sciences, ornithology, and entomology, with new content added daily.
CINAHL Complete – Cumulative Index to Nursing and Allied Health Literature (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Definitive research database for nursing and allied health professionals. Access 1,300 full-text journals, 5,500 indexed journals, evidence-based care sheets, quick lessons, continuing education modules, and research instruments. Coverage includes 50 nursing specialties, speech and language pathology, nutrition, general health and medicine.
Health Source: Consumer (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Find consumer health information in 70+ full-text magazines, 100+ reference books, pamphlets, drug information sheets, and Clinical Reference Systems reports. Full-text magazines include Prevention, Popular Science, Psychology Today, and Runner's World. Also included is Merriam-Webster’s Medical Desk Dictionary.

This database is also available to the public via JerseyClicks.
Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Full text for 300+ nursing and allied health medical journals (200+ are peer-reviewed), as well as indexing of 800+ journals.

This database is also available to the public via JerseyClicks.
MEDLINE Complete (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Companion to the free MEDLINE index, providing full-text access to 2000+ biomedical journals and abstracts for 5000+ more. Broad coverage for all health care professionals. Effectively search and retrieve information with Medical Subject Headings (MeSH) created by the United States National Library of Medicine. Coverage for some journals dates back to 1865.
MedlinePlus This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Authoritative consumer health information from the National Library of Medicine. Covers diseases, conditions, wellness, treatments, drugs and supplements, current research results, clinical trials, and a medical dictionary. Includes easy to understand medical videos and illustrations. Updated daily.
MedlinePlus: Multiple Languages This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Find health information from the National Library of Medicine in over 40 languages
Ovid Nursing Full Text Plus This link opens in a new window
Includes 50+ full-text journals from Lippincott, including 24,000+ articles and an index to 400+ nursing journals, with links to relevant full text in Evidence-Based Medicine Reviews (EBMR).
PDQ: Physician Data Query This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Includes Cancer Information Summaries (comprehensive, evidence-based summaries on topics that cover adult and pediatric cancer treatment, supportive and palliative care, screening, prevention, genetics, and integrative, alternative, and complementary therapies), Drug Information Summaries (consumer-friendly summaries of FDA-approved cancer drugs and drug combinations, including uses, research results, side effects and ongoing clinical trials), and a directory of genetic services providers. Produced by the National Cancer Institute, updated monthly.
PTSDpubs This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Free, comprehensive bibliographic index to research on post-traumatic stress disorder and other mental health consequences of exposure to trauma in veterans and the general population. Published by the National Center for PTSD (Department of Veterans Affairs). Former name: PILOTS.

The free version of PTSDpubs (linked above) is a citation index; only some content is publicly available in full-text. State employees with an NJSL library card can access full-text content using this this link: ProQuest PTSDpubs.
PsycArticles (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Find full-text articles from 100+ peer-reviewed journals in psychology and human behavior. Includes the complete run of all journals published by the American Psychological Association (APA).
Available journals. Note that PsycINFO contains all content in PsycARTICLES plus additional sources (some of which are not full text).
PsycInfo (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
A citation and abstract database covering 2000+ journals, books, and dissertations on the behavioral and social sciences. Some articles are linked full text; all content in PsycARTICLES is included in PsycINFO. Published by the American Psychological Assocation (APA).
PubChem This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
The world's largest collection of freely accessible chemical information. Search chemicals by name, molecular formula, structure, and other identifiers. Find chemical and physical properties, biological activities, safety and toxicity information, patents, literature citations and more. Contains information from hundreds of data sources, including government agencies, chemical vendors and journal publishers. Published by the National Library of Medicine.
PubMed This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
PubMed comprises more than 30 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. State employees and TESU staff and students, click the icon “Find Full Text from New Jersey State Library” to access licensed content.

Note there is also a free version of PubMed available if you do not have a State Library card.
Quick Start Guide videos and FAQ
Reference Solutions This link opens in a new window
Use this popular database to search for commercial and residential addresses and phone numbers, company information, employment and business opportunities, and job listings. Available searches include U.S. Businesses, U.S. New Businesses, U.S. Historical Businesses, U.S. Jobs/Internships, U.S. New Movers/Homeowners, U.S. Healthcare, U.S. Consumers/Lifestyles, U.S. Standard White Pages, Canadian Businesses and Canadian White Pages. Learn more on our blog "Research Businesses with Reference Solutions".

You can also use the Jerseyclicks link to login without a library card if you are within the State of New Jersey (authenticated by geolocation).
Videos and training guides in the Learning Center
SafetyLit This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Find abstracts and citations for reports and articles in disciplines relevant to preventing and researching unintentional injuries, violence, and self-harm. Among these are agriculture, anthropology, architecture, economics, education, engineering specialties, ergonomics and human factors, faith scholars, health and medicine, law and law enforcement, psychology, social work, and sociology. Search the site or sign up for email/RSS notifications for new content in your area of interest.
Tutorials
Salud en Español (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Provides evidence-based reports and fact sheets in Spanish on all aspects of consumer health and wellness, including overviews of diseases, conditions, procedures, and treatments.
Toxics Release Inventory (TRI) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
A searchable database of annual environmental releases for over 600 toxic chemicals reported by U.S. facilities. Search by facility, chemical, location, industry (NAICS code). Includes the My Right-To-Know Application. Downloadable datasets available. Coverage is 1987-recent. Published by the TRI Program of the US Environmental Protection Agency.

eBooks and Encyclopedias

Bookshelf - NCBI
- This link opens in a new window
Free online access to books and documents in life science and health care. Over 3000 titles.

EBSCO eBooks This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
NJSL's collection of over 15,000 eBooks on a range of mostly non-fiction topics. All works are full-text searchable. Read online or download PDF and ePub formats to your device.
- How to check out and download EBSCO eBooks
- Reading EBSCO eBooks on a mobile device
Gale eBooks This link opens in a new window
A collection of about 100 reference eBooks covering business, education, the environment, history, medicine, religion, science and social science. Titles include: Business Plans Handbook, Encyclopedia of Bilingual Education, Encyclopedia of Crime and Justice, Encyclopedia of Global Warming and Climate Change, Everyday Finance: Economics, Gale Encyclopedia of Medicine, Gale Encyclopedia of Nursing and Allied Health, Personal Money Management and Entrepreneurship and West's Encyclopedia of American Law. Search titles individually or as a collection.
Salem Press Online This link opens in a new window
Access eBooks published by Salem Press and Grey House on health, science, social science, American history, and business. Includes content such as America's Top-Rated Cities, Magill’s Medical Guide, and Defining Documents in American History.